The posts in this blog, labelled as “Layers” are the culmination of ideas I have been pondering since starting my surgical residency in 2006. I have been struck on countless occasions by the layers of social, psychological, and literal meaning that are infused in each patient encounter and each day in the hospital. It is a thing of great beauty and a reflection of the human experiences on so many levels. I intend to create a book, broken down according to the layers of the body, but discussing not merely the physical but the deeper figurative layers of this art of medicine and surgery.

I may intersperse these chapters with other blogs on other topics, so I hope this does not become confusing. Please bear with me if these chapters seem random, stream of conscious, or otherwise hard to follow. My goal is to tie them all together in the end, but until that time feel free to follow along as I go.

Leave a Reply

